1. Home
  2. Terms of Service
  3. 7. We take security seriously

7. We take security seriously

jane has secret ninja skills

We do a whole bunch of legal things “behind the scenes” to keep our network safe, including hiring pro security and technical advisers to go through our platform and servers with a fine tooth-comb looking for trouble and potential trouble.

That’s called an “audit” and can sometimes result in us needing to do some uber smart stuff to the server your website is being hosted on like:

  1. Moving your account from one datacenter, on one side of America, to the other side of the country, and back again, without telling you about it.
  2. Monitoring, copying, verifying and using for legal purposes any data and information on your server, to make sure that no anonymous hackers or dead-beat trolls have got under the hood.
  3. Sending you an email to tell you to strengthen your password if it really sucks.
  4. Ask you to prove that a third-party network you’ve connected your account to, is cool with you being connected to their stuff.

Ask what you can do for your country

Whether you use jane or someone else to host your website, you can help keep America’s internet points safer for everyone by:

  1. Following best practices when installing scripts and programs on your account, like setting permissions on public directories to 755. If you don’t know how to do this, it’s okay to contact us to ask us to do it for you.
  2. Getting in the habit of using stronger passwords. The kind that even really clever people can’t guess, like ones that have stupidly long strings of numbers, letters, and symbols.

You and jane are going to get along perfectly

If we contact you with something one of our security boffins tells us about, and ask you to change your account in some way (like removing a backdoor or deleting a potentially malicious problem), we’d be stoked if you could please do what we asked.

If you can’t help jane out keeping your account safer when asked, you agree that you’re A-OK with us disabling your account and leaving it disabled without a refund.

Updated on January 5, 2019

Was this article helpful?